Procedures for Reciprocating a Pharmacist License to Kentucky

1. Register to take the MPJE

- You can register for the exam on the NABP website, linked here: https://nabp.pharmacy
- If you have any questions regarding exam eligibility or how to register for your exams, please email the NABP directly at help@nabp.pharmacy or exameligibility@nabp.pharmacy

2. Fill out the License Transfer application on the NABP website

- Once you have passed the MPJE, you can complete this application.
- You can find the application by following this link: https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/licensure/licensure-transfer/
- Once your information has been verified by NABP, they will upload your official application via your eProfile. The board will automatically receive this application directly from the NABP website and it will function as your application for reciprocity to Kentucky.

3. Pay fee of \$275** online here:

https://secure.kentucky.gov/formservices/Pharmacy/VirtualTerminal

 You may also mail in payment, but we strongly recommend taking advantage of our online payment portal. If you choose to mail in payment, please make checks payable to the Kentucky Treasury.

4. Criminal Background Check via IDENTOGO

- You must pre-enroll online at https:/uenroll.identogo.com/ for Livescan or Cardscan Processing.
- **Livescan is recommended for In-State applicants** as there are less rejections, quicker processing times, and tracking available.
- If there are no Identogo sites in your area, you may proceed with Cardscan processing. Contact Identogo with any questions regarding that process.
- See Attached "Fingerprint Service Code Form" with required service code and acceptable I.D. documents.
- If your fingerprint submission is rejected, IDENTOGO will notify you. You will then follow the same process for resubmission of your fingerprints.
- Once the Board receives your results, *they are only valid for 90 days*. If you are unable to be licensed within that time frame, you will need to resubmit your fingerprints through IDENTOGO.

5. Licensure

- Once you have met all the requirements listed above, your license will be issued within 5-7 business days. You will receive an email to the email address specified in your application with your license number and letter of licensure. Please ensure your email address is accurate.
- You will be exempt from obtaining CE's the initial year you become licensed.
- Please email any questions to the Board's email address: pharmacy.board@ky.gov

^{**}Disclosure: Applicants for initial licensure as a pharmacist shall submit to a query to the National Practitioner Data Bank of the United States Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to 201 KAR 2:020 Section 6(1). There is a fee of \$25 for this query, which is already included in the \$275 fee for licensure. No separate payment is necessary. This query will be completed and submitted by the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy, so no further action is required by the applicant.

Notice for Examinations:

Effective August 25, 2022, a pharmacist applicant is limited to a lifetime limit of five (5) attempts on both the NAPLEX and MPJE. If after three (3) examination attempts, the applicant has not passed, they may qualify for two (2) more attempts by completing the following steps:

MPJE:

1) Submit to the Board of Pharmacy proof of five (5) hours of ACPE or board approved continuing education in the topic of pharmacy law **OR** A certificate of completion of a refresher course.

PLEASE NOTE

Florida pharmacists – If you were licensed after June 26, 1979, please follow the steps listed above. If you were licensed before June 26, 1979, please call the Board office for instructions.

California pharmacists – If you were licensed after January 1, 2004, please follow the steps listed above. If you were licensed prior to January 1, 2004, please call the Board office for instructions.