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Drug Manufacturer and Wholesale Distributor 
Renewal Deadline Is September 30, 2016

Drug manufacturer and wholesale distributor permits/licenses expire 
on September 30, 2016. A drug manufacturer or wholesale distributor 
may renew and pay the fee online. Renewal applications will not be 
mailed out; however, a renewal form may be printed from the Kentucky 
Board of Pharmacy’s website at www.pharmacy.ky.gov. If you have any 
questions concerning the renewal process, please contact the Board of-
fice. A drug manufacturer or wholesale distributor application with only 
a United States Post Office Box address will not be accepted and will 
be returned. All incomplete applications will be returned. Remember, 
the deadline is September 30, 2016.
Board Meeting and Retreat 2016

The Board office, located in downtown Frankfort, KY, will be the site 
of the 2016 Board meeting/retreat. The Board meeting will begin at 9 am 
on Friday, November 4, 2016. The Board retreat will begin at 8 am on 
Saturday, November 5, 2016.

The Board is requesting that any individual or organization submit 
topics concerning public safety to be considered for discussion at the 
Board retreat. Please submit any suggestion(s) to Steve Hart, RPh, Board 
executive director, by September 30, 2016. If you have any questions, 
please contact the Board office. 
Compliance Corner
Continuing Pharmacy Education 
Submitted by Katie Busroe, RPh, Inspections and Investigations 
Supervisor

As required by 201 KAR 2:015, Kentucky-licensed pharmacists 
must obtain 15 continuing pharmacy education (CPE) hours (1.5 CEUs) 
annually between January 1 and December 31. A pharmacist first licensed 
by the Board within 12 months immediately preceding the annual renewal 
date is exempt from the CPE requirement for that year. All Kentucky-
licensed pharmacists who do not practice in Kentucky must meet the 
Kentucky CPE requirement of obtaining 15 hours in the calendar year. 
Board staff audits CPE for all Kentucky-licensed pharmacists by using the 
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®) CPE Monitor®  
service or requesting pharmacists to submit proof of CPE to the Board 
office if the data is not available in CPE Monitor. 

Each pharmacist must create an NABP e-Profile and register for the 
CPE Monitor service to obtain a unique NABP e-Profile ID in order to 
record Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)-accredited 
CPE. All information is maintained in a highly secure environment. 
When registering for a CPE program, the e-Profile ID and date of birth in 
MMDD format will be required in order to obtain CPE credit. To ensure 
the CPE is accurately recorded and matched to each pharmacist’s e-Profile, 
it is important the correct e-Profile ID and date of birth are submitted. If 

a pharmacist is licensed in multiple states, the pharmacist must include 
each state of licensure in CPE Monitor in order for each state to access the 
CPE. If the Board staff cannot access a pharmacist’s CPE through CPE 
Monitor, the pharmacist will be audited and required to submit proof of 
CPE to the Board office. 

Any Board-approved or non-ACPE-accredited CPE programs will not 
be listed in CPE Monitor at this time; therefore, pharmacists will need 
to retain those CPE statements of credit in order to submit them to the 
Board office when requested during the audit period. If a pharmacist is 
requested to submit proof of CPE, an email will be sent indicating if the 
CPE meets the requirements or if it will result in disciplinary action. If 
the email indicates proof of 15 CPE hours was not received, but 15 CPE 
hours have been obtained, please contact the Board office.

If a pharmacist fails to obtain the required 15 CPE hours in a calendar 
year, by answering “No” to the renewal application question “Have you 
completed the continuing education requirements of a minimum of one 
and five-tenths (1.5) CEU (fifteen (15) contact hours) annually between 
January 1 and December 31 per 201 KAR 2:015 Section 5(1)(a)?”, the 
resulting disciplinary action is a $250 fine and double the amount of CPE 
not obtained in addition to the 15 hours required for the current year. If the 
question is answered “Yes” and it is discovered during the audit process 
that the required CPE was not obtained, the resulting disciplinary action is 
a $500 fine and double the amount of CPE not obtained in addition to the 
15 hours required for the current year. Per 201 KAR 2:270, a CPE viola-
tion is expungable if the same violation is not committed in the three-year 
time period after the completion of the disciplinary sanction and a written 
request is submitted to the Board. 

In 2016, approximately 40 pharmacists self-reported CPE violations on 
the pharmacist’s renewal, and 220 pharmacists were discovered to have 
CPE violations from the audit. 
Changes to Electronic Prescriptions for CS
Submitted by Virginia Whitt, PharmD Candidate

The Board has recently received many questions regarding what changes 
can be made to an electronically prescribed Schedule II prescription. 

 Those rules that apply to handwritten Schedule II prescriptions also ap-
ply to Schedule II prescriptions that are electronically prescribed. The fol-
lowing is a brief refresher on those items that may or may not be changed.

According to the Drug Enforcement and Professional Practices Branch 
of the Office of Inspector General, and as last printed in the September 
2010 Kentucky Board of Pharmacy Newsletter, the following changes 
are permitted: 

 ♦ The following may be added or modified without consulting the 
practitioner if the information can be obtained from other reliable 
sources: patient’s address; dosage form; practitioner’s address – 
printed; practitioner’s telephone number; and practitioner’s Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) number.

http://www.pharmacy.ky.gov
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 ♦ The following may only be added or modified after consulting 
with the prescribing practitioner, and all consultations must be 
documented: 
(1) Date of issue – may be added, but not changed. DEA does 

not allow the “Do not fill until” date to be changed even if the 
physician is consulted. 

(2) Drug strength
(3) Quantity – may be modified only in conjunction with a change 

of strength, and the total quantity dispensed must not exceed the 
total dosage authorized. For example, a practitioner prescribes 
120 mL of Quillivant XR® 750 mg/150 mL. When reconsti-
tuted, the Quillivant is 150 mL. The pharmacist may not contact 
the prescriber to change the quantity from 120 mL to 150 mL. 

(4) Quantity check-off box marked
(5) Directions for use
(6) Refill instructions (Schedules III-V)
(7) Practitioner’s name – printed (not a signature)

 ♦ A pharmacist may never change or add the patient’s name, the 
name of the controlled substance (CS) (except generic substitution 
permitted by state law), or the signature of the practitioner. 

Both state and federal law still require professional judgment 
by the pharmacist on every prescription filled. Caution is advised 
whenever a change or addition is made to any prescription. 

Additional information on CS is easily accessible on the Board’s 
website under Frequently Asked Questions. 
National Provider Identifiers and You
Submitted by Fred S. Morlan, BS, PharmD Candidate

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
(HIPAA) mandated the use of a standardized identifier to be used by 
health care providers, including pharmacists. To fulfill this requirement of 
HIPAA, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services created regulations 
that established the National Provider Identifier (NPI). All pharmacists 
are eligible for an NPI, though it is only required of pharmacists who bill 
on their own behalf.1

Currently, pharmacists are not recognized by Medicare as health care 
providers and thus cannot bill under Medicare Part B for coverage of ser-
vices that they provide. Nationally, groups such as the American Pharma-
cists Association, the National Community Pharmacists Association, and 
the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists have been pushing 
for provider status for some time now, and there is reason for optimism 
that their efforts may finally be leading to success. There are currently two 
bills in Congress – one in the House and one in the Senate – that would 
give pharmacists status as health care providers under the law. House of 
Representatives 592 and Senate 314 have garnered wide support, with over 
two-thirds of the House and nearly one-half of the Senate cosponsoring 
the legislation in their respective chambers.2

If the bill passes, pharmacists practicing in federally designated un-
derserved areas (which currently include 87 of Kentucky’s 120 counties) 
could potentially bill for services under Medicare Part B. 

Recent state efforts to achieve recognition of pharmacists as health 
care providers have been met with success in California, Oregon, and 
Washington. In Kentucky, pharmacists recently gained statutory recogni-
tion as health care providers for the purpose of initiating the dispensing of 
naloxone, and efforts are under way to achieve provider status in Kentucky 
as a result of recent professional initiatives of the Kentucky Pharmacists 
Association and the Advancing Pharmacy Practice in Kentucky Coalition.

As we move forward with provider status initiatives in Kentucky, 
pharmacists are encouraged to apply for an NPI so they are ready to imple-
ment advanced services when payment opportunities arise. According to 
a recent search on the NPI registry, only about 40% of pharmacists who 
practice in Kentucky currently have an NPI.3 Fortunately, registering for 
an NPI is a relatively easy and painless process.

How to Get an NPI: Pharmacists may apply for an NPI electronically 
at https://nppes.cms.hhs.gov/NPPES/Welcome.do. There is no cost for 
applying for one. This process requires the user to create a username and 
password, log in, and then complete the application. It takes approximately 
20 minutes to complete this process.

It is also possible to apply for an NPI with a paper application; there 
is one available at https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/CMS-Forms/CMS-
Forms/downloads/CMS10114.pdf.

Regardless of the method of applying for an NPI, assistance with the 
application process can be received by calling the NPI Enumerator team 
at 1-800/465-3203 or by emailing customerservice@npienumerator.com.
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