Kentucky Board of Pharmacy Advisory Council

Kentucky Board of Pharmacy via teleconferencing at <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85075785385?pwd=SXBUbE1ZSHhuZ3p1VXFHS2xPT1Jzdz09</u>

> Meeting ID: 850 7578 5385 Password: 3GFMcE Dial by your location +1 646 558 8656 US (New York) Meeting ID: 850 7578 5385 Password: 810227

> > May 21, 2020 9:00 a.m.

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Opening remarks by Chair Matt Martin
- III. Approval of Minutes from May 7, 2020
- IV. Discussion items: A. Telepharmacy
- V. Adjournment

KENTUCKY BOARD OF PHARMACY via teleconference using Zoom ADVISORY COUNCIL May 21, 2020 9:00 a.m.

MINUTES

Chairperson Matt Martin called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Members present: Shannon Stiglitz; Tony Tagavi; Chris Clifton; Jason Poe; Wes Rowe and Mike Wyant. Absent: Tyler Bright and Kelly Whitaker. Staff: Larry Hadley, Executive Director; Katie Busroe, Pharmacy Inspections and Investigations Supervisor; Amanda Harding, Pharmacy and Drug Inspector; Paul Daniels, Pharmacy and Drug Inspector; Jessica Williams, Pharmacy and Drug Inspector; Rhonda Hamilton, Pharmacy and Drug Inspector; John Romines, Pharmacy and Drug Inspector; Darla Sayre, Executive Staff Advisor and Anthony Gray, Board Counsel.

There were approximately 58 attendees on the teleconference. The following attendees requested their names be listed: Joel Thornbury and Richard Slone.

Mike Wyant moved to accept the minutes of the May 7, 2020 meeting. Chris Clifton seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Katie Busroe gave a brief overview of the purpose and scope of the Advisory Council for the new members. The Advisory Council is established under KRS.315.191(1)(k). The Kentucky Board of Pharmacy is a public agency and subject to the Open Meetings regulation, KRS.61.800, 805(2) and 871.

Telepharmacy Chairperson Martin advised the council that several individuals were in attendance to address their concerns and suggestions.

Concerns:

- Patient access to care
- The practice of telepharmacy would result in closure of independent pharmacies.
- Favors 340B pharmacies
- Eliminates the personal relationship between the consumer and their pharmacist
- Senior community access
- Implementation of telepharmacy due to mileage restrictions

After much discussion, Jason Poe moved to remove Section 3. Automated Dispensing Systems from the proposed regulation. Chris Clifton seconded and the motion passed with one abstention from Tony Tagavi.

Jason Poe left the meeting at 11:50 a.m.

The next scheduled meeting of the Advisory Council will be June 11, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. via teleconference.

On motion by Chris Clifton, seconded by Tony Tagavi and passed unanimously, Chairperson Martin adjourned the meeting at 11:55 a.m.