Reciprocal Licensure

Updated 5/8/2023

​Steps for Reciprocal Licensure

​​1) Register to take the MPJE and receive a passing score.
2) Upon passing the MPJE, complete the NABP License Transfer application.
3) Pay the Board's application fee of $275*.
4) Complete a criminal background check through IdentoGO.

For more detailed instructions on completing these steps, please refer to the following document:

Requirements for Reciprocating a Pharmacist License to Kentucky.pdf


For any questions regarding the MPJE, please contact the NABP directly. They will assist you with exam eligibility, registration, and how to view your results after testing. The NABP website, including all exam and contact information, can be found here: MPJE Application Page.​

(Please note that information about multiple attempts for exams is listed at the bottom of this page.)​


Here is the link to complete NABP's License Transfer application: License Transfer Application.
Once you have completed this license transfer application via the NABP website, it will automatically be forwarded to the Board licensing staff. You do not need to forward the application to us. The Kentucky Board of Pharmacy does not have a separate application for you to complete.


You may pay the $275* Board application fee via the online payment portal linked here: Online payment portal.​

You may also pay by mailing a check or money order made payable to "Kentucky State Treasury."

IdentoGO Criminal Background Check​

Kentucky Board of Pharmacy Service Code for Identogo: 27GJX1

Applicants must pre-enroll online at for Livescan or Cardscan processing using the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy Service Code listed above. Livescan is recommended for all applicants as there are less rejections, quicker processing times and tracking available. If your fingerprint submission is rejected, Identogo will notify you. You will then follow the same process for resubmission of your fingerprints.

Out of state applicants may not have reasonable access to an Identogo location. In this case, you may submit your fingerprints via Cardscan. Instructions for doing so are listed on the Identogo website.

For further instructions, please refer to the following document:​


Helpful Links

NABP Website                                    IdentoGO Website

Online payment portal                        Identogo.pdf   

*Disclosure: Applicants for reciprocal licensure as a pharmacist shall submit to a query to the National Practitioner Data Bank of the United States Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to 201 KAR 2:020 Section 6(1).  There is a fee of $25 for this query, which is already included in the $275 fee for licensure. No separate payment is necessary. This query will be completed and submitted by the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy, so no further action is required by the applicant.

Multiple Exam Attempts

Effective August 25, 2022, a pharmacist applicant is limited to a lifetime limit of five (5) attempts on both the NAPLEX and MPJE.  

If after three (3) examination attempts, the applicant has not passed, they may apply to qualify for two (2) additional attempts by following these steps:

NAPLEX: Complete a refresher course and submit a certificate of completion to the Board of Pharmacy.

MPJE: Complete proof of five (5) hours of ACPE or board approved continuing education in the topic of pharmacy law OR a certificate of completion of a refresher course. Either option must be submitted to the Board of Pharmacy.

The Kentucky Board of Pharmacy does not endorse or require a particular refresher course. The documentation of completion can be emailed to​

For any additional questions, please email the board at

Reciprocal Licensure